Words & a Pic – November 11

crochet groupPeople want to know what I do when Greg is busy globetrotting for meetings, commencements and such. Well, I keep myself busy.

In addition to keeping up with work duties, I make extra time for my hobbies. Recently, I found a group of ladies that knits and crochets for charity at a local sewing shop. I joined – at least for the weeks when Greg is traveling. We make teeny outfits for premature babies. How cute are they (babies and outfits)! We have a good time talking and crocheting at the same time.curtain elephants

I also do home projects that have been set aside for such a time as this. I made these curtains for Greg’s home office from material given to us in Mozambique. When Brad visited he said he could tell which house was ours because we had the most unique curtains.

Please pray for Greg as he travels, for his meetings and for me as I keep myself busy.

Quote from Amy’s reading:

“Courage meant the will to combat the feelings of worthlessness and powerlessness, and to do so with the small gestures of solidarity,S6C3_Helena_Jockel_Thumb_SM1-330x495 kindness and compassion.”

Doreta Glowaka quote from the introduction of Helena Jockel’s We Sang in Hushed Voices (Azrieli Series of Holocaust Survivor memoirs) 2014 – Kindle edition.

Just a note – these memoirs are free on Kindle and so far very short and interesting.

Greg’s blog – Theology in Overalls – “God first”20151106_175754

It’s an old marketing principle: If you want to sell it, sexualize it. So I was surprised to find headphones for sale not using sex as a hook, but religion.

The label read: “turn it up headphones.” Underneath were printed these four words:

Music is my religion.

Read the rest, here.

This entry was posted in Words and a pic and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

